• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,711 other subscribers


  • Twitter Updates

Mother’s Day Brunch at Redwood.

One of the joys of being a foodie is being trusted to chose the perfect spot for special occasions. For Mother’s Day I have invited my mother, my sister, and my mother-in-law to join me for a special ladies only brunch at Redwood located in the trendy restaurant and shopping mecca, Bethesda Row (7121 Bethesda Lane, Bethesda). Ironically, the last time that I was there was with my sister last May for Christian Siriano’s runway show.

I’m excited to return to Redwood, which is offering special Mother’s Day brunch Sunday, May 9 from 10 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. that will include a traditional buffet highlighting the best of the season. Very reasonably priced at just $35 for adults and $15 for children under 12, the Mother’s Day buffet includes a carving station, omelet station and dessert station, which are beautifully displayed throughout the lounge and dining bar.  For the perfect pairing, bottomless mimosas will also be available for $15 while enjoying tunes courtesy of the George Oakley Jazz Trio. 

My first impression last year of Redwood was phenomenal. I had the opportunity to meet Chef Blake Schumpert and Owner Jared Sager. In addition to meeting the new Chef, I learned that Blake is quite well versed in preparing dishes using the best local seasonal ingredients available. Restaurant Owner Jared Sager and Chef Schumpert share the same mission to offer seasonal menu items that showcases the best mid-atlantic ingredients using  produce, meat, and seafood that is naturally-raised, organic, or sustainable whenever possible, and sourced from local growers and ranchers.

This time last year I met Chef for the first time. I found his resume to be quite impressive including working with recent James Beard Foundation National Outstanding Chef award winner, Chef Dan Barber of New York City’s Blue Hill. Chef Schumpert has also worked with one of my favorite local DC Chef’s world- re-known Chef Michel Richard of DC’s Citronelle. Blake also served as the Executive Chef of Ashok Bajaj’s Ardeo from 2003 to 2006. Just before coming to Redwood, he was Chef at Millie’s in Richmond, a diner-like space with simple, seasonal food.

For reservations or additional information please call (301) 656-5515 or visit www.redwoodbethesda.com

Leave a comment