First Annual Curbside Cookoff with DC Street Vendors October 7-8.

The People Have Spoken! With more than 4800 votes, Washingtonians have showed their support for the great entrepreneurs on wheels — DC Food Trucks! The District Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs is holding the 1st annual D.C. Curbside Cookoff. The 20 food carts/truck finalists were announced on Friday after a week of online voting.

 

Sweetbites Truck serving customers. Photo by L. Shapiro

 

The 20 finalists, chosen out of 500 registered street food vendors in the D.C.-area, will gather for two days on October 7th and 8th at the CityCenterDC, formerly known as the Old Washington Convention Center from 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. for a celebration of art, music, and good eats. Admission is free and open to everyone. Attendees will be able to vote for their favorite vendor on-site via paper ballot and via text message. More details on the voting process will be announced in the next few days on the Curbside Cookoff website.

The chosen finalists include several specialized Korean food trucks, including the Yellow Cart, Yellow Truck and Takorean. Surpringly some new comers made the list, such as Fry Captain, Lobster Truck only having been open for a few weeks. Lastly, Food Chain DC is a unique entity as it has partnered with nine existing vendors to in order to offer more variety of food to customers.

The 20 Top Finalists for the 1st Annual Curbside Cookoff are the following:

BBQ Bandidos (@BBQBandidos)
Curbside Cupcakes (@curbsidecupcake)
DC Empanadas (@DCEmpanadas)
DC Slices (@dcslices)
District Taco (@districttaco)
Eat Sauca (@wheresauca)
Eat Wonky (@eatwonky)
El Floridano (@flmeetsdc)
Fojol Bros. (@fojolbros)
Food Chain DC (@FoodChainDC)
Fry Captain (@frycaptain)
Pedro and Vinny’s Burrito Cart
Pleasant Pops (@pleasantpops)
Rebel Heroes (@rebelheroes)
Red Hook Lobster Truck (@lobstertruckDC)
Sweet Bites (@sweetbitestruck)
Sweetflow Mobile (@sweetflowmobile)
Takorean (@takorean)
Yellow Cart
Yellow Truck (@yellowvendor)

As always, if you’re looking for some lunchtime fare and you want to know where they ALL are see http://foodtruckfiesta.com/

Advertisements

One Response

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s