A Clean Life: The Case for Local Food at “Take Back Food” Ladies’ Luncheon.

This is not your mom’s Tupperware party. Not like there is anything wrong with that but let’s be honest. Times have changed. I’m a modern woman with a family who cares about the environment, my children’s health, and even more their education but I admit that I’m obsessed with food. I read that 2/3 of the United States’ population is considered overweight or obese and food waste does more damage to the environment than the BP oil spill. With First Lady Michelle Obama’s recent Let’s Move campaign to end Child Obesity, more now than ever we realize that food plays a greater role in the well-being of our society. My kids know that when I am away from home I’m at a restaurant. I’m sure that my six-year-old son, Alex means well but he has made comments to me about my weight. I could set a better example for my kids. I plan to … and I’m going to start now.

Amy Senger. Photo by Jared Goralnick

I’m looking forward to attending my first “Ladies’ only” event this Sunday at Zola Wine and Kitchen;  however, I can say that most of the media events that I attend are predominantly female. I’m surprised that there aren’t more aspiring male food writers especially since all the big dogs in DC Todd Kliman, Tom Sietsema, Warren Rojas, are all men. I’m attending because I think the topic of discussion is interesting; however, I’m sure that there will be a handful of attendees that are going just to catch a glimpse of hearthrob Chef, Barton Seaver. I’ve met him before, so that’s not the reason I’m excited.

This event on Sunday, “Take Back Food” Ladies’ Luncheon will feature Amy Senger, (pictured above) adviser and advocate for A Clean Life. She will share her personal story of improving health through living a fresh, local food, zero-waste lifestyle and the impact it’s had on her body and personal well-being as well as the benefits it has on the environment. It’s going to be an eye-opening discussion. Senger promises to open all of our eyes about what we’re eating, what big food industry, including the U.S. government, is doing to undermine citizens personal health (and why it’s causing so many people to struggle with their weight), and the one simple change we can do to combat it.

Chef Barton Seaver. Photo by Marvin Joseph, Washington Post.

Now for the eye candy who needs no introduction in the restaurant industry. Chef Barton Seaver is credited with bringing the concept of sustainable seafood to the nation’s capitol and last year he earned Esquire magazine’s ‘Chef of the Year’.

For those are who are interested, the afternoon will include:

  • A special guest appearance by Barton Seaver, DC chef extraordinaire, advocate and National Geographic Fellow as he shares he personal mission to change food culture
  • Sparkling wine provided by local Virginia winery Thibaut-Janisson (featured at the first Obama state dinner)
  • A seasonal, locally-sourced meal prepared by Stir Food Group Executive Chef Bryan Moscatello
  • Limited signed copies (for purchase) of locavore leader Alice Waters’ latest cookbook, In The Green Kitchen

Tickets are $25 and can be purchased online.

One Response

  1. […] “Take Back Food” Ladies’ Luncheon will feature Amy Senger, adviser for A Clean Life who will discuss ways to improve health through living a fresh, local food, zero-waste lifestyle. Special guest, Chef Barton Seaver who is credited with bringing the concept of sustainable seafood to the nation’s capitol and last year he earned Esquire magazine’s ‘Chef of the Year’. Sparkling wine provided by local Virginia winery Thibaut-Janisson and a seasonal, locally-sourced meal prepared by Stir Food Group Executive Chef Bryan Moscatello of Zola Wine Kitchen. Tickets are $25 and can be purchased online. […]

Leave a Reply

