Dining in DC having fun in the sun!

Lisa Shapiro and Alex tubing in Lake George. Photo by Adam Shapiro

Missing Dining in DC’s daily scoop on DC dining? Not to worry … I’m just on vacation with family in New York at Lake George.  As you can see in the photo above with my 6-year-old son, Alex that we’re enjoying ourselves by having fun in the sun.  We’ll be here at the Lake tubing, boating, canoeing, grilling out and having fun with family the whole week. Then we leave and head to Ocean City, MD for the Labor Day holiday.

Even while I’m supposed to be taking a break from restaurants and dining out, I can’t help but want to venture out and check out the local spots. So today my husband and I took the kids into “town” for lunch which is a 15 mile drive into Bolton Landing which is in the Adirondack Mountains. We settled on Cate’s Italian Restaurant and I have to tell you that for being on vacation and trying not to think about fine dining, our experience was a nightmare. The service was a disaster. The servers couldn’t figure out who’s table it was and our server screwed up my husband’s order and he was literally forced to order a cup of tomato basil soup on a scorching hot day. On a day like today, all you want is a nice cold ice tea, right? Well forget it. Our ice tea was under steeped and tasted like moldy water. I ended up switching to Pepsi, thinking how could they screw this up and it was flat. I ordered the “Muffletta” sandwich because I couldn’t find a cold sandwich that interested me. Most of their sandwiches were warm heroes, like chicken parm or meatball. The sandwich was very thin and tasted more like butter than anything else.

It’s a good thing that we won’t have a reason to ever go back because I wouldn’t dare.

Leave a Reply

