New Weekly Feature: Best Dish Spotlight

Hook's Ale Battered Haddock

Hook's Ale Battered Haddock

I announced on Friday last week my plans to post weekly features with a different topic each day. To Sum up: Monday will highlight the best dish from the previous week. Tuesday will include a summary of announcements and updates of restaurant openings and closings. Wednesday will be an update on the Slice of Life campaign. Thursday a compilation of upcoming food-related events. Friday will include Chef announcements and new appointments.

Today is Monday so I will highlight one dish that I ate last week that I think was – the most memorable, the most notable, the most delicious, or unusual or something that I think made the dish extraordinary.

Last Tuesday, I was invited to lunch at Hook to try their new Fall menu. Pure Hospitality’s Hook in Georgetown, with a stellar reputation is offering a three-course prix fixe lunch menu for just $24, and includes a dessert crafted from  pre=”from “>Rammy award pastry chef Heather Chittum. My favorite dish of the week was the Ale Battered Haddock. The fish was sourced from Massachusetts and was served as “fish and chips” with two large battered haddock filets. The fish was deliciously crisp on the outside and tender and delicate on the inside. I love malt vinegar; it’s my favorite condiment. I dipped every bite. It was also accompanied by a spicy remoulade and deliciously seasoned house cut french fries.

Bourbon Bread Pudding

Bourbon Bread Pudding

I also tried three of Heather’s desserts. No offense to Heather but I really liked my fish and chips. I highly recommend them to anyone. Of the three desserts that I tried, I liked the new Midnight at Milton’s, Heather’s version of a Bourbon Bread Pudding. Delicious! It was sweet but not too sweet. It was served a la mode next to a small scoop of ice cream.

One Response

Leave a Reply

